Skip to main content
Skaneateles School District
Click for Athletics Click for School Calendar Click for Food Service Click for Tip Line Click for SchoolTool Click for Attendance

Honors Convocation Recognizes High School Students

SKANEATELES, NY (May 19, 2017) – The accomplishments of more than 80 juniors and seniors were celebrated at the annual Honors Convocation at Skaneateles High School on Monday, May 15.

Seniors received a variety of awards, including senior distinction awards in every subject area.  Forty-nine seniors who will graduate with Honors and Honors with Distinction were congratulated and presented with the special cords they will wear at graduation.

Eight juniors were recognized for their recent induction into the National Technical Honor Society.  In addition, more than 30 juniors received plaques, certificates, books, and scholarships from colleges and universities that recognize fine Skaneateles students each year.

Skaneateles High School Principal Gregory Santoro and Skaneateles Central Schools Superintendent Ken Slentz welcomed students, family, and friends to the Honors Convocation ceremony on Monday before a host of faculty members presented awards.

Music for the evening was provided by members of the High School Orchestra with refreshments provided by the Skaneateles Central Schools food services department.

Keep in touch with events and happenings in relation to the Skaneateles Central School District by visiting online at or following the district’s Facebook page at

Class of 2017 Valedictorian: Ethan Goldstein
Class of 2017 Salutatorian: Sophie Kush

Scholarship for Academic Excellence:
Ethan Goldstein
Sophie Kush
Anthony Panasci
Julia Willcox
Alex Wulff – Semi Finalist

Senior Distinction Award Winners:
Kaolin Howard (Art)
Mary Lambdin (Art)
Leah King (Photography)
Joe Benedict (Band)
Matt Oliver (Jazz Band)
Joe Capozza (Orchestra)
Julia Hearn (Chorus)
Josh Luce (Business)
Kyler Viggiano (Business)
Nick Glaza (English)
Malcolm Lombardi (English)
Ethan Goldstein (Foreign Language)
Julia Willcox (Foreign Language)
Anthony Panasci (Social Studies)
Sophie Kush (Mathematics, Science)
Alex Wulff (Technology)
Sam McClintic (Bausch & Lomb Science Award)
Lucas Rathgeb (Rennselaer Medal Award)

National Technical Honor Society Inductees:
Jared Calipari
Maggie Carlson
Jenna Fields
TJ Greenfield
Brahm Malcolm
Zachary McDonald
April Ordon
Heather Short

Special Award Winners:
Brahm Malcolm, Sam McClintic, Jeff Palmer, John Ricklefs (American Legion Auxiliary Boys State)
Max Moss (Clarkson Achievement Award)
Natalie Condon (Clarkson Leadership Award)
Brady Iles (Cornell Book Award)
Kyla DeForest (Elmira College Key Award)
Mia Grasso (Highpoint Junior Scholars Award)
Christian Daley (LeMoyne College Heights Award)
Nicole DeRosa, Ian Dickerson (RIT Computing Medal and Scholarship Program)
Kathryn Nicholson, Corin Wagner (2017 Sage Student Award)
Addison Gremli (St. Lawrence Book Award)
Matt Leveroni, Sierra Sander (St. Michael’s College Book Award)
Cross Bianchi (Syracuse University Book Award)
Hope Glowacki (U of R George Eastman Young Leaders Award)
Adrianna Marshall (U of R Frederick Douglas and Susan B. Anthony Award)
Amelia Huba (Wellesley Book Award)
Lily Datz (Wells College 21st Century Leadership Award)

Graduates with Honors and Honors with Distinction Designations for the Class of 2017:
Emily Baldwin
Erica Beatson
Matthew Benson
Benjamin Blackwell
Madelyn Brogan
Cameron Buell
Chloe Byrne
Raenah Campbell
Katherine Carlile
Chase Corcoran
Conor Driscoll
Nicholas Glaza
Matthew Goetzmann
Patrick Greenfield
Leah King
Kathryn Lindgren
Malcolm Lombardi
Joshua Luce
Nathan Main
Anna Neuenschwander
Matthew Neumann
Griffin Olin
Matthew Oliver
Lucas Palmer
Lydia Parker
Sarah Parks
Shannan Roberts
Thomas Seeley
Jonathan Stabile
Mikaela Terhune
Alexander VanRiper
Madeleine VanRiper
Kyler Viggiano

Honors with Distinction:
Joseph Benedict
Grace Buchholz
Erica Byrne
Joseph Capozza
Ethan Goldstein
Emma Goodell
Julia Hearn
Angela Krause
Sophie Kush
Olivia Nye
Anthony Panasci
Kyla Sears
Rachel Teixeira
Alison Weiss
Julia Willcox
Alexander Wulff
footer logo
Lynda Quick
45 East Elizabeth Street
Skaneateles, NY 13152