Skip to main content
Skaneateles School District
Click for Athletics Click for School Calendar Click for Food Service Click for Tip Line Click for SchoolTool Click for Attendance

Senior Athlete Awards

One night each June, administrators and coaches get together to honor athletes of the senior class.
These are coveted awards because they usually show how a student went beyond excelling in one sport, to excel in two or more sports and to inspire team mates.
Skaneateles has many gifted athletes who also are recognized at sports banquets throughout the year for their skills and character.
At the annual Senior Awards Presentation Tuesday in the cafeteria, coaches gave moving speeches about athletes who stood out even beyond that. The students of certain awards now have their names engraved on tall trophies that display the names of similar stars through the years.
The awards:
Victory Sports Medicine award to Katelyn Ellison and Sam Duggan. This award is presented to the athletes who have exhibited the outstanding qualities of a student athlete.
The Lee Rittenmeyer Award went to Melissa Amory and Nevan Rourke. It is awarded to the “quiet leaders” who sacrifice personal accolades for the greater good of the team.
The Coaches Workhorse Award went to Olivia Gage and Reece Eddy. It is presented to the athletes who worked the hardest and devoted the most time and effort to the sports they played in.
The Peter Graceffo  award went to Bailey Herr and Aubrey Leverich. It is given to the athletes who demonstrate outstanding sportsmanship and character.
The Art Hyatt Award went to Lauren Goodchild and Tom Hagen. It is presented to the athletes who are outstanding in citizenship, athletics and scholarship.
The Outstanding Athlete was awarded to Catie Woodruff and Sam Duggan. This award is presented to the best all-around athletes in school.
The Block S award was presented to Tate Green and Devin Callahan. It is presented to the athletes who exhibit great leadership skills, strong work ethic and citizenship, and excellent athleticism … while contributing the most to the high school athletic program.
For the first time this year, Principal Gregory Santoro and Athletic Director Mike Major also presented The Laker Way Awards to student-athletes who have consistently demonstrated sportsmanship, integrity and overall commitment to their teams and coaches over the course of their high school athletic careers.  These are selfless individuals who have made the good of the team their ultimate goal and who demonstrate the Laker Way.
These athletes, who received plaques of recognition, include:
            Zachary Blair                          Katelyn Ellison                      
            Sam Clymer                            Makie Kerr
            Peter Knupp                            Hannah Logan
            Jacob Patalino                        Madison Pinckney
            Marc Pietropaoli                      Amanda Wetmore

Missing from girls photo:  Catie Woodruff
footer logo
Lynda Quick
45 East Elizabeth Street
Skaneateles, NY 13152